February 04, 1986
Rhythm & Blues, Dance-Pop, Urban, Club/Dance, Pop, Contemporary R&B

Album Review

Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis tailored their contemporary dance-pop to the emerging personality of Janet Jackson, who attempted to take control of her life on this record. In the course of that attempt, she came across as an aggressive, independent woman, notably on "What Have You Done for Me Lately." But the album was primarily a production showcase; it may have been tailored to Jackson's persona, but the real artists were Jam and Lewis.
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Control
  2. Nasty
  3. What Have You Done for Me Lately
  4. You Can Be Mine
  5. The Pleasure Principle
  6. When I Think of You
  7. He Doesn't Know I'm Alive
  8. Let's Wait Awhile
  9. Funny How Time Flies (When You're Having Fun)
purchase full album