Rhythm & Blues, Early R&B, Doo Wop

Album Review

Pittsburgh's Marcels are chiefly remembered for their breakneck doo wop version of "Blue Moon" from 1961, and it is indeed a classic, but this unsung ensemble had more going for it than just that song. This set includes the Marcels' key tracks from their stay at Colpix Records (1961 to 1963), which means it has "Blue Moon," of course, but also the impressive "Heartaches" and a brilliant cover of the Gershwins' "Summertime," highlighted by a delightful lead vocal from Cornelius Harp. Most of what you need is here, but the 38-track Complete Colpix Sessions is really the way to go for a full and complete dose of this fun vocal group.
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Blue Moon
  2. Heartaches
  3. Goodbye to Love
  4. Crazy Bells
  5. Summertime
  6. Love Her the Whole Week Through
  7. You Gave Me Peace of Mind
  8. I'll Be Forever Loving You
  9. A Sunday Kind of Love
  10. Find Another Fool
  11. I Wanna Be the Leader
  12. A Fallen Tear
  13. Over the Rainbow
  14. Teeter Totter Love
  15. You Are My Sunshine
  16. My Love for You
  17. Blue Heartaches
  18. Friendly Loans
  19. Most of All
  20. Two People in the World
  21. Sweet Was the Wine
  22. Allright, Okay, You Win
  23. My Melancholy Baby
  24. Lollipop Baby
  25. Flowerpot