Blues, British Blues, Electric Harmonica Blues, Blues-Rock, Blues Revival, Regional Blues

Album Review

Eric Clapton is usually thought of as John Mayall's most important right-hand man, but the case could also be made for his successor, Peter Green. The future Fleetwood Mac founder leaves a strong stamp on his only album with the Bluesbreakers, singing a few tracks and writing a couple, including the devastating instrumental "Supernatural." Green's use of thick sustain on this track clearly pointed the way to his use of guitar riffs with elongated, slithery tones on Fleetwood Mac's "Albatross" and "Black Magic Woman," as well as anticipating some aspects of Carlos Santana's style. Mayall acquits himself fairly well on this mostly original set (with occasional guest horns), though some of the material is fairly mundane. Highlights include the uncharacteristically rambunctious "Leaping Christine" and the cover of Freddie King's "Someday After a While (You'll Be Sorry)."
Richie Unterberger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. A Hard Road
  2. It's Over
  3. You Don't Love Me
  4. The Stumble
  5. Another Kinda Love
  6. Hit the Highway
  7. Leaping Christine
  8. Dust My Blues
  9. There's Always Work
  10. The Same Way
  11. The Supernatural
  12. Top of the Hill
  13. Someday After Awhile (You'll Be Sorry)
  14. Living Alone
purchase full album