Pop/Rock, Adult Contemporary, Dance-Pop, Urban, Club/Dance

Album Review

Singer/dancer/choreographer Paula Abdul hit the big time with the third single, "Straight Up," off this album, which sparked a string of hits that carried through to her follow-up. Despite having a slight voice, her voice is distinct and perfectly suited to this synthesized type of late-'80s dance-pop. "Cold Hearted" is insistent and catchy, "Forever Your Girl" is sweet and accessible, and "Opposites Attract" gives Abdul a chance to spar with the Wild Pair. There is some filler -- "Next to You," for example -- that hasn't aged as well as the better material, but overall this is a consistent album with some great dance-pop songs. Unfortunately, as Abdul and her material matured, her audience waned.
Bryan Buss, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. The Way That You Love Me
  2. Knocked Out
  3. Opposites Attract
  4. State of Attraction
  5. I Need You
  6. Forever Your Girl
  7. Straight Up
  8. Next to You
  9. Cold Hearted
  10. One or the Other