April 08, 2008
Q Records
Rhythm & Blues, Smooth Jazz

Album Review

Al Green almost sings like a jazz horn player in the first place, so it should come as no surprise that his songs slide so easily into a smooth jazz format. This set is pleasant and, well, smooth, as classic Green sides like "Love & Happiness" and "Let's Stay Together" drift by like gentle feathers, and things even get a tiny bit funky at times, like on the version of "Take Me to the River" presented here, which, with just a little more drive, could pass for straight soul-jazz.
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Love & Happiness
  2. Tired of Being Alone
  3. Call Me
  4. Let's Stay Together
  5. Here I Am
  6. I'm Still in Love with You
  7. Let's Get Married
  8. Take Me to the River
  9. I Can't Get Next to You
  10. Sha-La-La