Jazz, Dixieland, Early Jazz, Vocal Jazz, New Orleans Jazz, Swing, Jazz Instrument, Traditional Pop, Trumpet Jazz

Album Review

Louis Armstrong's concert at Symphony Hall with his All-Stars in 1947 was a major success, featuring the trumpeter with vocalist/trombonist Jack Teagarden, clarinetist Barney Bigard, pianist Dick Cary, bassist Arvell Shaw, and drummer Big Sid Catlett in particularly inspired form. This single CD reissues 15 of the 18 selections from the earlier two-LP set, dropping "How High the Moon" (which was mostly a bass solo), singer Velma Middleton's feature on "I Cried for You," and (most regrettably) a definitive comedy vocal duet by Middleton and Armstrong on "That's My Desire." Otherwise, the music (whose order has been partly shuffled around without any explanation) is intact. Highlights include Satch's superb vocal on "Black and Blue," heated jams on "Royal Garden Blues," "Muskrat Ramble," and "High Society," and Teagarden's feature on "Lover Man." Joyous music.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Mahogany Hall Stomp
  2. (What Did I Do to Be So) Black and Blue
  3. Royal Garden Blues
  4. Lover
  5. Body and Soul
  6. Muskrat Ramble
  7. Stars Fell on Alabama
  8. Since I Fell for You
  9. Tea for Two
  10. Steak Face
  11. On the Sunny Side of the Street
  12. High Society
  13. C Jam Blues
  14. Baby Won't You Please Come Home
  15. Boff Boff
purchase full album