June 24, 2008
Pop/Rock, Garage Rock, Psychedelic

Album Review

The 12 cover versions on Sky Sunlight Saxon's 2008 studio release, The King of Garage Rock, sound pretty much as you'd expect: off-the-cuff, psychedelic rave-ups! Credit goes to producers Danny Harvey and Clem Burke, who managed to capture the band's (Harvey on guitar, Burke on drums, Don Randi on keyboards, and Trent Stroh on bass) raw, aggressive, overmodulated fuzz, while Sky's voice floats over the top never having to compete. It's that blend that keeps tried and true classics on the album like "Have Love Will Travel," "My Little Red Book," and "(I'm Not Your) Stepping Stone" so vibrant. As for "Pushin' Too Hard" and "Can't Seem to Make You Mine," the arrangements stick pretty close to the originals, although "Mr. Farmer" has a folk-rock Byrds feel -- which is no bad thing. As this is a studio effort, Sky isn't quite as animated without that instant spark an appreciative audience provides; he's a bit more subdued. It notably works on "Come Together," where he talks the lyrics as if channeling Dylan, which suits John Lennon's lyrics perfectly. Sky Sunlight Saxon is perhaps a bit more mellow, but nothing less than his eccentric cosmic self. As The King of Garage Rock proclaims in the notes: "Jump to the other side. Save your soul today. Don't eat God's animals."
Al Campbell, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Pushin' Too Hard
  2. Gloria
  3. (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction
  4. Mr. Farmer
  5. Have Love Will Travel
  6. I Wanna Be Your Dog
  7. Can't Seem to Make You Mine
  8. Love Me Do
  9. My Little Red Book
  10. (I'm Not Your) Steppin' Stone
  11. Come Together
  12. Wild Thing