Vocal Music, Traditional Pop, Vocal Jazz, Standards, Early Jazz Vocals, American Popular Song

Album Review

Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong make for a charming team on this CD. Accompanied by pianist Oscar Peterson, guitarist Herb Ellis, bassist Ray Brown, and drummer Buddy Rich, Fitzgerald and Armstrong perform 11 standards with joy and swing. There are touches of Satch's trumpet, but this is primarily a vocal set with the emphasis on tasteful renditions of ballads. Its follow-up, Ella & Louis Again, is also worth getting.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Can't We Be Friends?
  2. Isn't This a Lovely Day?
  3. Moonlight in Vermont
  4. They Can't Take That Away from Me
  5. Under a Blanket of Blue
  6. Tenderly
  7. A Foggy Day
  8. Stars Fell on Alabama
  9. Cheek to Cheek
  10. The Nearness of You
  11. April in Paris
purchase full album