November 04, 2008
Sbme Special Mkts.
Rhythm & Blues, Philly Soul, Pop-Soul, Smooth Soul, Soul, Quiet Storm

Album Review

Not to be confused with a 1972 release of the same title -- which was issued on the Bell label and features an outdoor shot of the group on the cover -- this Super Hits was released in 2008 through Sony. It's a ten-track budget CD that features some of the group's biggest smooth soul hits, including "La-La Means I Love You," "(Didn't I) Blow Your Mind This Time," "Trying to Make a Fool of Me," and "When You Get Right Down to It." It's missing two of their Top Ten R&B hits, as well as many other significant highlights. That lack of thoroughness is to be expected from a budget release. As of 2013, La-La Means I Love You: The Definitive Collection remained the best single-disc overview of the group.
Andy Kellman, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. La-La Means I Love You
  2. Hey! Love
  3. Alfie
  4. Didn't I (Blow Your Mind This Time)
  5. When You Get Right Down to It
  6. Tell Me This Is a Dream
  7. Trying to Make a Fool of Me
  8. Walk Right Up to the Sun
  9. With These Hands
  10. The Look of Love