July 28, 2009
Tooth & Nail
Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, Dream Pop, Alternative/Indie Rock

Album Review

For the uninitiated, this odds-and-sods collection of B-sides and demos also does well as an introduction to the low-gloss, sleepily atmospheric new wave that Jason Martin has been doing so well since the mid-'90s. Many of the songs appeared in full-band form on the 2008 release Dial M; having the acoustic demos available for side-by-side comparisons opens the songs up in interesting new ways, driving home Martin's talent for strong melodies and trenchant lyrics. Respectful covers like the Smiths' "Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want" and the Church's "Under the Milky Way" provide no new entrée into those songs, but sound perfectly at home in this context, and throw a light on Martin's influences.
Paula Carino, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Automatic
  2. Compulsion
  3. Concentrate
  4. Pearl of Great Price [Daniel Brigham Remix] [Version]
  5. Minor Keys
  6. Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want
  7. Easy
  8. Spooky
  9. Mr. Martin
  10. Mr. Martin [Acoustic]
  11. I Love You Like the Little Bird
  12. Mall Monarchy
  13. M23
  14. Guitar Man
  15. Black Jacket
  16. Broken Arm
  17. Taxi
  18. Gangs of Riverside
  19. The Brightest of the Head
  20. Altercation
  21. The Man Who Will Lead
  22. Thin as a Needle
  23. The Lucky Ones
  24. For Us
  25. White Fog
  26. Family Line
  27. W.S. 2005
  28. The Brightest of the Head [Acoustic]
  29. I Love You Like the Little Bird [Acoustic]
  30. Under the Milky Way
  31. Magic
purchase full album