August 25, 2009
Rhythm & Blues, Early R&B, Doo Wop

Album Review

During the early R&B and doo wop era groups often toured in packages, taking the stage for a quick set of four or five songs, then clearing out of the way for the next act to do their four or five songs, and in some ways that's what this "meets" series from Collectables feels like, as it combines two R&B vocal artists -- five songs apiece. This one combines the Del Vikings (listed on the cover here as the Dell Vikings) with the Duprees, to the obvious benefit of neither, and the whole disc is over in 20 minutes. You're going to hear a song or two you like, though, and the series is budget-priced, so it's a trade-off. Call it the briefest of introductions to each artist -- just like those old package concert tours.
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Come Go with Me
  2. Whispering Bells
  3. What Made Maggie Run
  4. Over the Rainbow
  5. How Can I Find True Love
  6. You Belong to Me
  7. Have You Heard
  8. My Own True Love
  9. Why Don't You Believe Me
  10. Take Me as I Am