Pop/Rock, AM Pop, Rock & Roll, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Early Pop/Rock

Album Review

The 36 songs here, spread over two CDs, don't cover Johnny Rivers' early, pre-Liberty Records career, but they do represent the broadest cross section of his hits for that label and beyond, B-sides, and superior album tracks assembled to date in one place. As revealed here, Rivers is a very versatile, somewhat underrated talent whose range extends far beyond Top 40 rock, "Secret Agent Man" or any other single hit, into folk, soul, and blues, all of which he plays with an unpretentious honesty. He remained remarkably consistent through the psychedelic era and into the 1970s, even amid the twin onslaughts of disco and punk, and there are no real weak points on this set. Additionally, the notes give a reasonably detailed picture of Rivers' life and career, which started far earlier (1957) than most listeners realize, and the sound is up to Rhino Records' usual standard, in terms of quality and the selection of masters.
Bruce Eder, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Memphis
  2. Maybellene
  3. Mountain of Love
  4. Midnight Special
  5. Cupid
  6. Seventh Son
  7. Parchman Farm
  8. Where Have All the Flowers Gone?
  9. Under Your Spell Again
  10. Secret Agent Man
  11. I Washed My Hands in Muddy Water
  12. Poor Side of Town
  13. By the Time I Get to Phoenix
  14. Do You Want to Dance?
  15. Baby I Need Your Loving
  16. The Tracks of My Tears
  17. Do What You Gotta Do
  18. Tunesmith
  19. It's Too Late
  20. Summer Rain
  21. Look to Your Soul
  22. Brother, Where Are You [*]
  23. Going Back to Big Sur [*]
  24. A Whiter Shade of Pale [*]
  25. These Are Not My People
  26. City Ways [*]
  27. You Better Move On [*]
  28. Muddy River
  29. Into the Mystic
  30. Fire and Rain
  31. Sea Cruise
  32. Rockin' Pneumonia and the Boogie Woogie Flu
  33. Blue Suede Shoes
  34. Help Me, Rhonda
  35. Outside Help [*]
  36. Swayin' to the Music (Slow Dancin')