September 06, 1958
Jazz, Post-Bop, Jazz Instrument, Piano Jazz, Cool

Album Review

This CD reissues most of the music recorded on one night by the 1958 Ahmad Jamal Trio (which consisted of the pianist/leader, bassist Israel Crosby and drummer Vernel Fournier) during a live performance in Washington D.C. Originally released as the LP Ahmad Jamal plus part of Portfolio of Ahmad Jamal, these 16 selections display the uniqueness and tightness of this memorable unit. With great attention paid to dynamics and the use of space yet always swinging (at least lightly), the Ahmad Jamal Trio is heard at its best on such numbers as "It Could Happen to You," "Stompin' at the Savoy," "Squatly Roo," "A Gal in Calico" and "Let's Fall in Love."
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Ahmad's Blues
  2. It Could Happen to You
  3. I Wish I Knew
  4. Autumn Leaves
  5. Stompin' at the Savoy
  6. Cheek to Cheek
  7. The Girl Next Door
  8. Secret Love
  9. Squatty Roo
  10. Taboo
  11. Autumn in New York
  12. A Gal in Calico
  13. That's All
  14. Should I?
  15. Seleritus
  16. Let's Fall in Love
purchase full album