ASV/Living Era
Jazz, Big Band, Dixieland, Swing, Tin Pan Alley Pop, Vocal Pop, Traditional Pop, Show Tunes, Dance Bands, American Popular Song, Early Jazz, Cast Recordings, British Dance Bands, Vocal Jazz, Standards

Album Review

This British compilation of recordings of Hoagy Carmichael compositions, most of them made during the 1930s, contains Louis Armstrong's 1936 hit recording of "Lyin' to Myself" and Carmichael's own 1929 recording of "Rockin' Chair," accompanied by Armstrong, which was a hit in 1932. There are two other Armstrong recordings, two by the Mills Brothers, and one by Chick Webb and His Orchestra with Ella Fitzgerald. Most of the rest of the 23 tracks are by British artists of the period whose names will be unfamiliar to Americans, and whose renditions of the Carmichael songs compare unfavorably with their U.S. competitors. Thus, the album's value as a collection of vintage Carmichael-related recordings is limited.
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Lyin' to Myself
  2. Lazy Bones
  3. Georgia on My Mind
  4. Sing It 'Way Low Down
  5. Heart and Soul
  6. Down't Uncle Bill's
  7. One Morning in May
  8. Rockin' Chair
  9. I Get Along Without You Very Well
  10. Two Sleepy People
  11. Ev'ntide
  12. Blue Orchids
  13. Small Fry
  14. Judy
  15. Jubilee
  16. Stardust
  17. Snowball
  18. Little Old Lady
  19. Moon Country
  20. Lazy River
  21. The Nearness of You
  22. Doctor, Lawyer, Indian Chief
  23. Sing Me a Swing Song (And Let Me Dance)
purchase full album