Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, College Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, American Underground

Album Review

Producer and ex-Suicide Commando Chris Osgood was an excellent choice to produce this first attempt at a breakthrough record. And, despite a few songs simply sounding like retreads, this is a pretty snappy collection, with Dave Pirner's songwriting showing a depth and nuance that had previously been lost amid the roaring. The album closer, "Passing Sad Daydream," is even a country-tinged wallow that, despite being too long, was an indication that this band was developing a style that would allow them to make the transition out of speed rock's obsession with, well, speed.
John Dougan, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Freaks
  2. Carry On
  3. No Man's Land
  4. Crashing Down
  5. The Judge
  6. Sun Don't Shine
  7. Closer to the Stars
  8. Never Too Soon
  9. Miracle Mile
  10. Lap of Luxury
  11. Passing Sad Daydream
purchase full album