RELEASE
1994
LABEL
Challenge Records
GENRES
Jazz, Jazz Instrument, Early Jazz, Trumpet Jazz

Album Review

Dick Sudhalter, best known as one of the three writers responsible for one of the great jazz biographies (Bix - Man and Legend), is also a fine trumpeter who has the influence of Bix Beiderbecke fairly well-buried in his own lyrical style. Sudhalter had lived in England during the 1965-75 period, making this get-together (subtitled "& His London Friends") a musical reunion. Sudhalter and 13 other musicians are heard together in different combinations caressing a set of high-quality swing standards. With Keith Nichols (doubling on piano and trombone), altoist John R.T. Davies and trombonists Roy Williams and Jim Shepherd emerging as the top soloists in the supporting cast, Sudhlater sounds quite inspired. Whether it be "Dream a Little Dream of Me," "Tea for Two," "The Blue Room" or "Rose of Washington Square," this is a delightful and very melodic set.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Dream a Little Dream of Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/dream-a-little-dream-of-me/id218608836?i=218608872&uo=5
  2. People Will Say We're in Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/people-will-say-were-in-love/id218608836?i=218609302&uo=5
  3. Isn't This a Lovely Day?http://itunes.apple.com/album/isnt-this-a-lovely-day/id218608836?i=218609524&uo=5
  4. Tea for Twohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/tea-for-two/id218608836?i=218609658&uo=5
  5. Concentratin' (on You)http://itunes.apple.com/album/after-awhile/id218608836?uo=5
  6. The Blue Roomhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-blue-room/id218608836?i=218610203&uo=5
  7. Chasing Shadowshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/chasing-shadows/id218608836?i=218610361&uo=5
  8. My Heart Stood Stillhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/my-heart-stood-still/id218608836?i=218610435&uo=5
  9. The Love Nesthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-love-nest/id218608836?i=218610683&uo=5
  10. Emalinehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/emaline/id218608836?i=218610791&uo=5
  11. How Could We Be Wrong?http://itunes.apple.com/album/how-could-we-be-wrong/id218608836?i=218610908&uo=5
  12. Rose of Washington Squarehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/rose-of-washington-square/id218608836?i=218611106&uo=5
  13. P.S. I Love Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/p-s-i-love-you/id218608836?i=218611218&uo=5
  14. After a Whilehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/after-awhile/id218608836?uo=5
purchase full album