February 27, 1975
Pop/Rock, Art Rock, Album Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Prog-Rock

Album Review

Yesterdays is a pleasant but minor compilation of early Yes cuts. Steve Howe and Rick Wakeman put in an appearance on an up-tempo art-rock reworking of Paul Simon's "America"; listen for Bill Bruford's wah-wah bongos. The rest of this record is largely a showcase for the shunned talents of Tony Kaye and Peter Banks, although the song selections pass over the edgier material in favor of hazy tunes like "Survival." The previously unreleased "Dear Father" is a wonderful, if heavily orchestrated, evocation of youthful angst.
Paul Collins, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. America
  2. Looking Around
  3. Time and a Word
  4. Sweet Dreams
  5. Then
  6. Survival
  7. Astral Traveller
  8. Dear Father