November 22, 2011
Sony Music
Rhythm & Blues, Soul, Early R&B, Gospel, Black Gospel

Album Review

When Sam Cooke signed with RCA Records in 1960, he had already had several hits ("You Send Me," "[What A] Wonderful World," and "Only Sixteen" among them) on the small independent label Keen Records. He had paid attention to the business sides of things, too, and he signed with RCA because he was allowed to keep control of his song publishing. His RCA albums, eight of them, were mixed affairs for the most part, often full of covers, but Cooke was never less than charismatic when he sang, and his last two albums, the blues-inflected Night Beat and the dynamic One Night Stand! Sam Cooke Live at the Harlem Square Club, both of which were released in 1963, are classics by any definition. The final album released during Cooke's lifetime, 1964's fine Ain't That Good News, and all of the recordings made by Cooke in the year leading up to his death, including the magnificent "A Change Is Gonna Come," are controlled by ABKCO Records and are not included in this set.
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Far Away Places
  2. Under Paris Skies
  3. South of the Border (Down Mexico Way)
  4. Bali Ha'i
  5. The Coffee Song (They've Got an Awful Lot of Coffee in Brazil)
  6. Arrivederci, Roma [Goodbye to Rome]
  7. London by Night
  8. Jamaica Farewell
  9. Galway Bay
  10. Sweet Leilani
  11. The Japanese Farewell Song
  12. The House I Live In
  13. Hey There
  14. Mona Lisa
  15. Too Young
  16. The Great Pretender
  17. You, You, You
  18. Unchained Melody
  19. The Wayward Wind
  20. Secret Love
  21. The Song from Moulin Rouge
  22. I'm Walking Behind You
  23. Cry
  24. Venus
  25. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
  26. I'm Just a Country Boy
  27. They Call the Wind Maria
  28. Twilight on the Trail
  29. If I Had You
  30. Chain Gang
  31. Grandfather's Clock
  32. Jeanie with the Light Brown Hair
  33. Long, Long Ago
  34. Pray
  35. You Belong to Me
  36. Goin' Home
  37. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  38. Little Girl Blue
  39. Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out
  40. Out in the Cold Again
  41. But Not for Me
  42. Exactly Like You
  43. I'm Just a Lucky So and So
  44. Since I Met You Baby
  45. Baby, Won't You Please Come Home
  46. Trouble in Mind
  47. You're Always on My Mind
  48. The Song Is Ended
  49. Twistin' the Night Away
  50. Sugar Dumpling
  51. Twistin' in the Kitchen with Dinah
  52. Somebody's Gonna Miss Me
  53. A Whole Lotta Woman
  54. The Twist
  55. Twistin' in the Old Town Tonight
  56. Movin' and a-Groovin'
  57. Camptown Twist
  58. Somebody Have Mercy
  59. Soothe Me
  60. That's It, I Quit, I'm Movin' On
  61. I Wish You Love
  62. Willow Weep for Me
  63. Chains of Love
  64. Smoke Rings
  65. All the Way
  66. Send Me Some Lovin'
  67. Cry Me a River
  68. Driftin' Blues
  69. For Sentimental Reasons
  70. Nothing Can Change This Love
  71. Little Girl
  72. These Foolish Things
  73. Nobody Knows the Trouble I've Seen
  74. Lost and Lookin'
  75. Mean Old World
  76. Please Don't Drive Me Away
  77. I Lost Everything
  78. Get Yourself Another Fool
  79. Little Red Rooster
  80. Laughin' and Clownin'
  81. Trouble Blues
  82. You Gotta Move
  83. Fool's Paradise
  84. Shake Rattle and Roll
  85. Soul Twist/Introduction [Live]
  86. Feel It (Don't Fight It) [Live]
  87. Chain Gang [Live]
  88. Cupid [Live]
  89. It's All Right/For Sentimental Reasons [Live]
  90. Twistin' the Night Away [Live]
  91. Somebody Have Mercy [Live]
  92. Bring It on Home to Me [Live]
  93. Nothing Can Change This Love [Live]
  94. Having a Party [Live]
purchase full album