January 30, 1996
Blues, Regional Blues, Piano Blues, Chicago Blues

Album Review

Bluebird Recordings 1941-42 contains all 16 tracks Big Maceo Merriweather recorded for the label during that year, including the classic "Worried Life Blues." Merriweather was one of the most influential barrelhouse blues pianists, and these Bluebird recordings form the core of his legacy. While these recordings are available in more thorough anthologies, this single disc remains an excellent introduction to his best work.
Thom Owens, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Worried Life Blues
  2. Ramblin' Mind Blues
  3. County Jail Blues
  4. Can't You Read
  5. So Long Baby
  6. Texas Blues
  7. Tuff Luck Blues
  8. I Got the Blues
  9. It's All Up to You
  10. Bye Bye Baby
  11. Why Should I Hang Around?
  12. Poor Kelly Blues
  13. Some Sweet Day
  14. Anytime for You
  15. My Last Go Round
  16. Since You Been Gone