April 02, 1996
Varèse Vintage
Pop/Rock, Early Pop/Rock

Album Review

Seventeen-track anthology focuses mostly on their popular 1963-66 recordings, including "Deep Purple," "Whispering," "Stardust," "All Strung Out," several lower-charting items, and some LP tracks. They milked the "Deep Purple" formula too many times, but this is enjoyably frothy pop, and "All Strung Out" is a genuinely soulful, accurate approximation of Phil Spector's work with the Righteous Brothers. The disc also includes Stevens's 1959 solo single "Teach Me Tiger," a bizarre cover of "I Love How You Love Me" (with battling bagpipes and fuzzy guitars), and one undistinguished track each from 1985 and 1996.
Richie Unterberger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Deep Purple
  2. Sweet and Lovely
  3. Teach Me Tiger
  4. Paradise
  5. (We'll Always Be) Together
  6. Begin the Beguine
  7. Whispering
  8. Stardust
  9. Tea for Two
  10. I'm Confessin' (That I Love You)
  11. The Coldest Night of the Year
  12. I Love How You Love Me
  13. All Strung Out
  14. You'll Be Needing Me Baby
  15. I Can't Go on Livin' Baby Without You
  16. I'm Fallin' for You
  17. Why Don't You Do Right?