August 20, 1996
Easy Listening

Album Review

Generous helping (25 tracks worth) of his 1950s Mercury sides, including big hits ("Shish-Kebab," "Caravan," "Pretend," "Skokiaan"), flop singles, and a smattering of LP and EP tracks. Not many people are curious about Marterie's brand of MOR big band pop these days, but he was certainly a versatile fellow, piloting his troops through everything from near-muzak to the bona fide swing of "Bumble Boogie" and "Caravan." Oddly, this doesn't include his hit covers of Bill Haley's "Crazy, Man, Crazy" and Woody Guthrie's "So Long (It's Been Good to Know Ya)." Perhaps the authors of the liner notes for Mercury's vintage pop series are tired of defending the label's artists against accusations of sanitizing roots music for the masses.
Richie Unterberger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. A Trumpeter's Lullaby
  2. Pretend
  3. Caravan
  4. Warsaw Concerto
  5. The Creep
  6. Skokiaan
  7. Blue Mirage (Don't Go)
  8. The Peanut Vendor
  9. O Mio Babbino Caro
  10. Dry Marterie
  11. Sleepy Lagoon
  12. Lover's Serenade
  13. One Fine Day
  14. Bumble Boogie
  15. John and Julie
  16. Laura
  17. In a Persian Market
  18. Melancholy Rhapsody
  19. Lullaby of Birdland
  20. Guaglione (Village in Capri)
  21. Autumn in New York
  22. Tricky
  23. Shish-Kebab
  24. Dancing Trumpet
  25. Carla