May 01, 2012
Def Soul
Rhythm & Blues, Contemporary R&B, Adult Contemporary R&B, Neo-Soul

Album Review

This volume in Universal's extensive line of Icon anthologies covers the three albums Musiq released on Def Soul: Aijuswanaseing (2000), Juslisen (2002), and Soulstar (2003). It's useful for casual fans of the singer, as it contains all seven of the charting singles from the releases and adds a handful of deeper cuts. Four of these songs -- specifically "Just Friends (Sunny)," "Love," "Halfcrazy," and "Dontchange" -- reached the Top Ten of Billboard's R&B/Hip-Hop Singles chart and made Musiq one of the most successful mature R&B artists of the early aughts. While it covers only a fraction of Musiq's career, it does so with straightforward accuracy.
Andy Kellman, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Just Friends (Sunny)
  2. Forthenight
  3. Halfcrazy
  4. Love
  5. Girl Next Door
  6. Dontchange
  7. Mary Go Round
  8. Previouscats
  9. Newness
  10. Whoknows
  11. Dontstop