Blues, Louisiana Blues, Regional Blues, Swamp Blues

Album Review

This 24-song collection undoubtedly overlaps with some of the U.S.-issued Excello material -- including the same alternate takes of "Rooster Blues" and "It's Mighty Crazy" -- but there's just enough that they don't share to make this worth a look, if not a purchase, by owners of the U.S. material. The sound, as is usual with Ace, is excellent, and the stuff is worthy of inclusion with the best of Slim's work. Among the best tracks here are two outtakes unique to this set at this time, "I'm Leavin' You Baby," on which Slim steps over into Howlin' Wolf territory ("Moanin' at Midnight," etc.), and "Sweet Little Woman," where he crosses swords with Sonny Boy Williamson II.
Bruce Eder, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Long Leanie Mama
  2. My Starter Won't Work [Alternate Take]
  3. It's Mighty Crazy [Alternate Take]
  4. Blues at Night
  5. I'm Leavin' You Baby [Alternate Take]
  6. Feelin' Awful Blues
  7. Sweet Little Woman [Alternate Take]
  8. Lightnin's Troubles
  9. I Gonna Leave
  10. Rooster Blues [Alternate Take]
  11. G.I. Slim
  12. Driftin' Blues
  13. Too Close Blues
  14. My Little Angel Child
  15. Greyhound Blues
  16. I Just Don't Know
  17. Somebody Knockin'
  18. Just a Lonely Stranger
  19. Cool Down Baby
  20. Nothin' But the Devil
  21. Goin' Away Blues
  22. I'm Tired Waitin' Baby
  23. Death Valley Blues
  24. Hello Mary Lee