RELEASE
November 21, 1995
LABEL
Document
GENRES
Blues, Classic Female Blues, Pre-War Blues

Album Review

One of many early blues and jazz women who were overshadowed and ultimately eclipsed by Ma Rainey, Ethel Waters, and Bessie Smith, Martha Copeland made about three dozen recordings during the 1920s that were reissued seven decades later on two CDs by the Document label. The second volume traces her Columbia recording activity from October 1927 to August 1928. Her little backing group, billed as her Smokey City Trio on December 6, 1927, was named after Copeland's home town of Pittsburgh, PA. "Wylie Avenue Blues" refers to the main drag in the Lower Hill District where the city's African-American population was concentrated. Her pianists during this period were Porter Grainger (tracks one through six); Rube Bloom (on "I Can't Give You Anything But Love" and "My Daddy Can't Do Nothin' Bad"); James P. Johnson (on "Somethin' Goin' on Wrong" and "Desert Blues"); and J.C. Johnson, who is joined by cornetist Bubber Miley on "Mama's Well Has Done Gone Dry" and "I Ain't Your Hen Mister Fly Rooster." The second half of this compilation holds a smattering of records cut by St. Louis blues woman Irene Scruggs between April 1926 and August 1930. On "Home Town Blues" and "Sorrow Valley Blues," Scruggs was backed by King Oliver's Dixie Syncopators, a rough-edged little group that included trombonist Kid Ory and clarinetist Albert Nicholas; at the same session, Oliver's band backed Georgia Taylor as she sang "Jackass Blues." Scruggs is heard with guitarist Lonnie Johnson on tracks 15 and 16, and the disc closes with five titles recorded for Gennett in Richmond, IN, at the end of the summer of 1930. Anyone seeking more recordings by Irene Scruggs ought to investigate her collaborations with Blind Blake and Little Brother Montgomery, all dating from 1930.
arwulf arwulf, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Shootin' Star Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/shootin-star-blues/id77270140?i=77269992&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. Good Time Mama Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/good-time-mama-blues/id77270140?i=77270001&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. Wylie Avenue Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/wylie-avenue-blues/id77270140?i=77270009&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. Everybody Does It Nowhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/everybody-does-it-now/id77270140?i=77270014&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. Bank Failure Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/martha-copeland-vol-2-1927/id77270140?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. Second-Hand Daddyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/second-hand-daddy/id77270140?i=77270024&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. I Can't Give You Anything But Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-cant-give-you-anything-but/id77270140?i=77270063&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. My Daddy Can't Do Nothin' Badhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/my-daddy-cant-do-nothin-bad/id77270140?i=77270067&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. Somethin' Goin' on Wronghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/somethin-goin-on-wrong/id77270140?i=77270080&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. Desert Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/desert-blues/id77270140?i=77270092&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. Mama's Well Has Done Gone Dryhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/mamas-well-has-done-gone-dry/id77270140?i=77270096&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. I Ain't Your Hen Mister Fly Roosterhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-aint-your-hen-mister-fly/id77270140?i=77270102&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. Home Town Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/home-town-blues/id77270140?i=77270104&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  14. Sorrow Valley Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/sorrow-valley-blues-c-230/id77270140?i=77270108&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  15. Lonesome Valley Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/lonesome-valley-blues/id77270140?i=77270112&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  16. Sorrow Valley Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/sorrow-valley-blues-80820/id77270140?i=77270116&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  17. Worried Love, Pt. 1http://itunes.apple.com/album/martha-copeland-vol-2-1927/id77270140?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  18. Worried Love, Pt. 2http://itunes.apple.com/album/martha-copeland-vol-2-1927/id77270140?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  19. You've Got What I Wanthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/youve-got-what-i-want/id77270140?i=77270124&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  20. I Want You to Give Me Somehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-want-you-to-give-me-some/id77270140?i=77270130&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  21. My Back to the Wallhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/my-back-to-the-wall-16975/id77270140?i=77270132&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  22. Borrowed Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/borrowed-love-16977/id77270140?i=77270136&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  23. The Voice of the Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-voice-of-the-blues/id77270140?i=77270138&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album