Harkit Records
Vocal Music, Space Age Pop, Cocktail, Alternative/Indie Rock

Album Review

Teach Me Tiger! represents some kind of absurd apotheosis in post-Julie London pop seduction -- April Stevens' vocals are so breathy that one can't help but wonder whether the poor girl spent the recording session hooked up to a respirator machine. Calculated naughtiness that's ultimately as innocent as a lamb, the album luxuriates in the double entendres and nudge-nudge-wink-wink eroticism of a simpler time. Henri René's lush, knowing arrangements perfectly complement Stevens' starry-eyed interpretations of songs like "Love Kitten," "You and Only You," and "It Can't Be Wrong," adding a much-needed touch of truly adult sophistication to the proceedings. Harkit's 2008 CD reissue also appends a handful of rare tracks from Stevens' tenure with RCA.
Jason Ankeny, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Do It Again
  2. Teach Me Tiger
  3. I Want a Lip
  4. In Other Words
  5. I Get Ideas
  6. Talk to Me
  7. I'm in Love Again
  8. That's My Name
  9. I'm Making Believe
  10. I'll Wait for Your Love
  11. It Can't Be Wrong
  12. When My Baby Smiles At Me
purchase full album