August 10, 1994
Jazz, Early Jazz

Album Review

This CD has trumpeter and cornetist Peter Ecklund leading an all-star septet that he assembled for the 1994 Elkhart Indiana Jazz Festival. Ecklund is joined by the members of the Orphan Newsboys (clarinetist Bobby Gordon, rhythm guitarist and singer Marty Grosz, and bassist Greg Cohen) plus trombonist Dan Barrett, pianist Mark Shane, and drummer Hal Smith. Grosz has four vocals, Ecklund whistles on "Where the Blue of the Night," and the band romps on such numbers as "Yacht Club Swing," "Borneo," "Nobody's Sweetheart," and "Prince of Wails." The musicians play up to their usual level, so this set is easily recommended to mainstream swing collectors.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Opening Remarks (Wang Wang Blues)
  2. Sweethearts on Parade
  3. Yacht Club Swing
  4. Trees
  5. Somebody Stole My Gal
  6. The Moon Is Low
  7. Indian Summer
  8. I'm Putting All My Eggs in One Basket
  9. Borneo
  10. Black Cat Moan
  11. Doin' the New Low Down
  12. Nobody's Sweetheart
  13. How and I to Know?
  14. Prince of Wails
  15. Where the Blue of the Night (Meets the Gold of the Day)