August 26, 1997
Rhythm & Blues, Blues-Rock, Soul, Chicago Blues, Electric Chicago Blues, Blues Revival, Regional Blues, Modern Electric Blues, Early R&B, Rockabilly, Jump Blues, Rock & Roll, Electric Blues, Jive, Soul-Blues

Album Review

While Chess Records' legacy as a dominating and shaping force on rock & roll is well chronicled, you don't really get the full range of it until you're ultimately confronted with the music itself. This two-disc, 36-track compilation drives that point home with an almost numbing intensity. Whether they're blues tunes that have been covered so many times they now are staples of everyone's set list (Muddy Water's "I'm Your Hoochie Coochie Man," "I Just Want to Make Love to You"; Bo Diddley's "I'm a Man"; or Howlin' Wolf's "Back Door Man"), classics waiting to be covered ("More and More," "Bring It On Home," "Ice Cream Man"), or early rock classics themselves ("Rock and Roll Music," "Johnny B. Goode," "Susie-Q," "See You Later Alligator"), Chess seems to have laid the first set of musical footprints in the snow. No mere publishing sampler, this is an essential piece of rock & roll history and a great primer for ground-floor roots music enthusiasts.
Cub Koda, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. (I'm Your) Hoochie Coochie Man
  2. Mother Earth
  3. I Don't Know
  4. Sugar Mama
  5. 24 Hours
  6. Ice Cream Man
  7. Jock-A-Mo
  8. Wang Dang Doodle
  9. I Just Want to Make Love to You
  10. Reconsider Baby
  11. Eisenhower Blues
  12. My Babe
  13. I'm a Man
  14. The Seventh Son
  15. See You Later, Alligator
  16. Trouble No More
  17. Roll over Beethoven
  18. Who Do You Love?
  19. Rock & Roll Music
  20. Walking by Myself
  21. Mona
  22. Johnny B. Goode
  23. Susie-Q
  24. Memphis
  25. Back in the U.S.A.
  26. Back Door Man
  27. Madison Blues
  28. Spoonful
  29. You Shook Me
  30. The Red Rooster
  31. Bring It on Home
  32. Help Me
  33. Hi-Heel Sneakers
  34. Killing Floor
  35. More and More
  36. Tell Mama