August 25, 1998
Concord Jazz
Jazz, Piano Jazz, Jazz Instrument

Album Review

A fixture at the Concord label for over two decades, pianist Dave McKenna has recorded countless exciting sessions, both as a leader and as a sideman. This single-disc sampler from 1998 therefore only hints at the many McKenna recordings. There are five unaccompanied piano solos (including "If Dreams Come True"), duets with guitarist Gray Sargent ("'Deed I Do"), baritonist Joe Temperley and clarinetist Buddy DeFranco, a quartet number ("No More Ouzo for Puzo"), and a trio piece with tenorman Scott Hamilton. McKenna really came into his own during his Concord years, and this brief retrospective does him justice.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. If Dreams Come True
  2. But Not for Me
  3. Only Trust Your Heart
  4. No More Ouzo for Puzo
  5. Dream Dancing
  6. 'Deed I Do
  7. Sunbeam & Thundercloud
  8. Basin Street Blues
  9. You Must Believe in Swing
  10. Don't Want No Blues This Christmas