Pop/Rock, Hardcore Punk, Punk/New Wave, L.A. Punk, American Punk

Album Review

Everything you love about legendary Californian punkers the Circle Jerks is gloriously displayed on Golden Shower of Hits. Obnoxious humor (Keith Morris' vocals, the album cover), disjointed guitars courtesy of Greg Hetson, and sloppy yet excited rhythm work (bassist Roger Rogerson and drummer John Ingram) all add up to perhaps the ultimate punk rock party. The band never excelled in subtlety, as evidenced in the song titles "When the Shit Hits the Fan" and "Parade of the Horribles," but the Jerks were one of the first bands to play lightning fast, yet still memorable punk (the 41-second classic "In Your Eyes"). Included is Golden Shower's title track medley, which upset longtime fans for the covers (albeit very tongue-in-cheek) of such middle-of-the-road schlock as "Close to You," "Afternoon Delight," and "Love Will Keep Us Together." But all the faves are here -- "Under the Gun," "Bad Words," "Coup d'Etat," and "Product of My Environment," among a host of others. Golden Shower of Hits is the ultimate introduction to this one-of-a-kind band.
Greg Prato, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. In Your Eyes
  2. Parade of the Horribles
  3. Under the Gun
  4. When the Shit Hits the Fan
  5. Bad Words
  6. Red Blanket Room
  7. High Price on Our Heads
  8. Coup d'Etat
  9. Product of My Environment
  10. Rats of Reality
  11. Junk Mail
  12. Golden Shower of Hits (Jerks on 45): Along Comes Mary/Close to You/Af