Half Moon
Rhythm & Blues, Pop-Soul, Uptown Soul, Soul, Northern Soul, Chicago Soul, Beach, AM Pop

Album Review

The Tams, led by the gravel-tinged voice of Joseph Pope, were one of the most consistent of 1960s pop-soul groups, and have been long overdue for a critical reappraisal. Beginning with "Untie Me" (written by Joe South) in 1962, the Tams hit the charts at intervals with "What Kind of Fool (Do You Think I Am)" in 1963, "Hey Girl Don't Bother Me" in 1964, and the sublime "Be Young, Be Foolish, Be Happy" in 1968. This fine collection has all of those hits plus solid tracks like "You Lied to Your Daddy," "Shelter" (another Joe South tune), and "Weep Little Girl," which exudes tons of charm, even as the vocals ride over an almost impossibly contorted rhythm. Sounding at times like a rougher version of the Impressions, the Tams are well worth seeking out, and this anthology makes a perfect place to start.
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Hey Girl Don't Bother Me
  2. Be Young, Be Foolish, Be Happy
  3. I've Been Hurt
  4. Go Away Little Girl
  5. It's All Right (You're Just in Love)
  6. The Letter
  7. Laugh It Off
  8. The Greatest Love
  9. You Lied to Your Daddy
  10. Shelter
  11. All My Hard Times
  12. Weep Little Girl
  13. What Kind of Fool (Do You Think I Am)
  14. Silly Little Girl
  15. Anna (Go to Him)
  16. Melancholy Baby
  17. Riding for a Fall
  18. Got to Get Used to a Broken Heart
  19. The Truth Hurts
  20. Why Did My Little Girl Cry
  21. Get Away (Leave Me Alone)
  22. Untie Me