May 25, 1999
Jazz, Hard Bop, Fusion, Post-Bop

Album Review

Verve's Ultimate Tony Williams may not live up to its billing but the budget-priced collection is nevertheless a terrific introductory sampler. Jack DeJohnette selected the 11 tracks on the compilation and also wrote the liner notes. He did an excellent job of balancing acknowledged classics with choices that illustrate the range of Williams' late '60s/early '70s recordings for Polygram. Some listeners will undoubtedly find a favorite or two missing, but these 16 tracks -- including "Some Hip Drum Shit," "Emergency," "Mom and Dad," "Vashkar," "The Urchins of Shermese," "Clap City," "Allah Be Praised" and "Via the Spectrum Road" -- capture the essence of Williams' Verve recordings, which is enough to make this a worthwhile sampler.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Some Hip Drum Shit
  2. Emergency
  3. Mom and Dad
  4. Vashkar
  5. Beyond Games
  6. The Urchins of Shermêse
  7. Vuelta Abajo
  8. Clap City
  9. Allah Be Praised
  10. Big Nick
  11. Via the Spectrum Road
purchase full album