Pop/Rock, Blues-Rock, Rock & Roll

Album Review

As an anthology, the humorously titled Al's Big Deal/Unclaimed Freight captures the stylistic essence of what has made Al Kooper such a vital addition to rock & roll. Although somewhat superseded in the digital domain by Rare + Well Done: The Greatest & Most Obscure Recordings, this title was available almost two decades prior to that 2001 two-CD set. This collection delves into Kooper's solo canon as well as his ensemble work with the Child Is Father to the Man version of Blood, Sweat & Tears. There is also a healthy sampling of his super sessions and collaborations with such luminaries as Michael Bloomfield, Stephen Stills, Shuggie Otis, and even Bob Dylan. The material is split into the self-explanatory subheadings of "The Songs" and "The Jams." The former incorporates shorter and more focused standout performances such as "I Can't Quit Her" and "I Love You More Than You'll Ever Know" from BS&T. There are highlights from Kooper's solo discs as well. These include "Brand New Day" and the haunting cover of John Prine's "Sam Stone," as well as the respective title tracks from the LPs I Stand Alone and New York City (You're a Woman). Incidentally, the latter track is available here in a remixed form exclusive to this package. "The Jams" reveal the amazing instrumental prowess that Kooper brings to his collaborative efforts. As a musician, his ability to interact and improvise are no more evident than on "Albert's Shuffle" and "Season of the Witch" from the definitive Super Session album. However, at the center is Kooper's uncanny ability to support guitarists Stills and Bloomfield. In essence, he aurally corrals their sinuous and soulful fretwork with his tastefully pervasive organ leads. The 1989 CD pressing of Al's Big Deal/Unclaimed Freight omitted the tracks "Without Her," " "My Days Are Numbered," and "So Much Love" and added "The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter" -- which was concurrently not available on CD elsewhere.
Lindsay Planer, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I Can't Quit Her
  2. I Love You More Than You'll Ever Know
  3. My Days Are Numbered
  4. Without Her
  5. So Much Love/Underture
  6. Albert's Shuffle
  7. Season of the Witch
  8. If Dogs Run Free
  9. The 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin' Groovy)
  10. The Weight
  11. Bury My Body
  12. Jolie
  13. I Stand Alone
  14. Brand New Day
  15. Sam Stone
  16. New York City (You're a Woman) [Excerpt from New York City: 6 Am ...]
  17. I Got a Woman
purchase full album