RELEASE
July 11, 2000
LABEL
Red House Records
GENRES
Folk, Traditional Folk

Album Review

No Closing Chord marks the centennial celebration of the birth of folk songwriter Malvina Reynolds who is known primarily for penning the songs "Little Boxes," a hit for Pete Seeger, and "What Have They Done to the Rain" for the Seekers. Singing 13 of Reynolds's most loved songs is fellow folk legend Rosalie Sorrels. There is a deep connection between these two pioneers. Not only has Sorrels sang the songs of Reynolds for a number of years but she also wrote the liner notes for the Reynolds compilation Ear to the Ground, Topical Songs 1960-1978. Guitarist Nina Gerber took care of the musical end of the tribute, putting together a stellar cast including Bonnie Raitt, Barbara Higbie, Laurie Lewis, Terry Garthwaite, and Will Scarlett.
Al Campbell, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Magic Penny/Visitationhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/no-closing-chord-the-songs/id32328019?uo=5
  2. A Little Musclehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/a-little-muscle/id32328019?i=32327731&uo=5
  3. What Have They Done to the Rain?http://itunes.apple.com/album/what-have-they-done-to-the-rain/id32328019?i=32327758&uo=5
  4. The Money Crophttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-money-crop/id32328019?i=32327785&uo=5
  5. The Judge Saidhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-judge-said/id32328019?i=32327806&uo=5
  6. No Hole in My Headhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/no-hole-in-my-head/id32328019?i=32327831&uo=5
  7. From Way up Herehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/from-way-up-here/id32328019?i=32327856&uo=5
  8. Lost Children Streethttp://itunes.apple.com/album/lost-children-street/id32328019?i=32327892&uo=5
  9. Rosie Janehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/rosie-jane/id32328019?i=32327911&uo=5
  10. I Cannot Sleep for Thinking of the Childrenhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-cannot-sleep-for-thinking/id32328019?i=32327933&uo=5
  11. On the Rim of the Worldhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/on-the-rim-of-the-world/id32328019?i=32327955&uo=5
  12. This Worldhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/this-world/id32328019?i=32327976&uo=5
  13. No Closing Chordhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/no-closing-chord/id32328019?i=32327999&uo=5
purchase full album