November 28, 2000
Rawkus / Umgd
Rap, Christmas, East Coast Rap, West Coast Rap, Holidays, Southern Rap, Underground Rap, Alternative Rap, Hardcore Rap

Album Review

The second installment of the Lyricist Lounge compilation takes on a decidedly different direction then its predecessor. While the first segment catered towards breaking new, less-familiar talent, names like Prime, Mike Zoot, and Sarah Jones have been phased out and replaced by Erick Sermon and (gasp) JT Money. Yet, the transition is a fairly smooth one, and considering that the Lyricist Lounge has expanded from its open-mike night roots into a successful MTV comedy show, this revision is not entirely surprising. Though not without filler material, LL 2 achieves what most compilations promise but never deliver -- a satisfactory LP that will appease both the chest-beating backpacker and the bling-bling tunnel faction. The quest in trying to meet this goal is really half the fun, as some interesting collaborations unfold; fellow Detroit natives Royce 5'9" and Jay Dee hook up on the autobiographical "Let's Grow," and Talib Kweli and Dead Prez revitalize the pro-black ideology over Hi-Tek's spaghetti western guitar riffs on the eye-opening "Sharp Shooters." However, the closest example of what LL 2 aspires to be is captured on Redman and Saukrates' "WKYA" (Will Kick Your Ass), as the easily accessible but fiery rhymes of Red and Sauk are truly universal in their flavor. Though LL 2 may not portray the idealism or spirit that the Lyricist Lounge was initially founded on, it does successfully represent the differing tastes of all hip-hop fans. That in itself is this compilation's biggest accomplishment.
Matt Conaway, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. 16 Bars [Live At The Lyricist Lounge, 1993]
  2. Oh No
  3. Makin' It Blend
  4. Get Up
  5. Get That Dough
  6. Let's Grow
  7. Ms. Fat Booty 2
  8. W.K.Y.A.
  9. Sharp Shooters
  10. Legendary Street Team
  11. The Grimy Way
  12. Battle
  13. Da Cipha Interlude
  14. Right and Exact
  15. He Lives
  16. Watcha
  17. I've Committed Murder [Gang Starr Remix]
  18. Live at the Lounge (Outro)
  19. [Untitled Track]
  20. [Untitled Track]
  21. [Untitled Track]
  22. [Untitled Track]
  23. [Untitled Track]
  24. [Untitled Track]
  25. [Untitled Track]
  26. [Untitled Track]
  27. [Untitled Track]
  28. [Untitled Track]
  29. [Untitled Track]
  30. [Untitled Track]
  31. [Untitled Track]
  32. [Untitled Track]
  33. [Untitled Track]
  34. [Untitled Track]
  35. [Untitled Track]
  36. [Untitled Track]
  37. [Untitled Track]
  38. [Untitled Track]