May 08, 2001
Shanachie Records
Jazz, Instrumental Pop, Urban, Contemporary Jazz, Crossover Jazz, Smooth Jazz

Album Review

Smooth Jazz Plays the Hits is a fine sampling of jazz artists and vocalists who have recorded for the Shanachie label. All ten tracks are cover versions of soul, R&B, and pop-soul hits including "Ain't No Sunshine" (Nestor Torres), "Could It Be I'm Falling in Love?" (Fantasy Band), "Walk on By" (Bob Baldwin), and "What Does It Take (To Win Your Love)" (Candy Dulfer). If you're looking for background music for the office or lite party music, this compilation will do the trick.
Al Campbell, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. What Does It Take (To Win Your Love)
  2. Killing Me Softly
  3. Ain't No Sunshine
  4. Could It Be I'm Falling in Love?
  5. Fortunate
  6. The Look of Love
  7. Rock with You
  8. Reasons
  9. Walk on By
  10. Goovin' (On a Sunday Afternoon)