Electronica, Synth Pop, Club/Dance, Punk/New Wave, Art Rock, Pop

Album Review

The seeds of Euro-dance sown on Claro Que Si reached fruition on Yello's next record, naturally titled You Gotta Say Yes to Another Excess. There are fewer novelty synth tracks than before, those being replaced by a series of sleazy, deep-throated vocals on "I Love You," "Lost Again," "Heavy Whispers," and the title track. There are also a few exercises in worldbeat synth pop, with heavy percussion on the title track as well as the closing number, "Salut Mayoumba." Though Blank's production doesn't sound as consistently innovative as on the first two Yello records, that's probably due more to other synth pop groups catching up than any comedown on his part.
John Bush, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I Love You
  2. Lost Again
  3. No More Words
  4. Crash Dance
  5. Great Mission
  6. You Gotta Say Yes to Another Excess
  7. Swing
  8. Heavy Whispers
  9. Smile on You
  10. Pumping Velvet
  11. Salut Mayoumba
purchase full album