June 25, 2002
EMI Music Distribution
Vocal Music, Cool, Cast Recordings, Vocal Jazz, Show Tunes, West Coast Jazz, Traditional Pop, Standards, Modern Jazz Vocals

Album Review

This solid collection may strike June Christy fans as a little ironic because rather than stock her albums with standards the way that most of her peers did, the West Coast jazz vocalist was known for unearthing new and obscure songs. It's not that Christy neglected standards (in fact she recorded dozens of them over her 12-year run with Capitol Records), it's just that one gets the feeling that when she sang something like "I'm Glad There Is You" it was because she had something fresh or unique to bring to it. And she does put her own personal and idiosyncratic stamp on 20 of the songs here while two tunes haven't been recorded enough to become standards (the undeservedly obscure "Cry Like the Wind" and the swing-era novelty "Bei Mir Bist Du Schon"). So, when you add the song selection to the fact that this disc features the vocalist in orchestral, small-group jazz and big-band settings, the disc not only offers a much more complete portrait of the artist than the title suggests, but this is also one of the strongest entries in EMI's Sings the Standards series.
Nick Dedina, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. For All We Know
  2. Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me
  3. Fly Me to the Moon
  4. Blue Moon
  5. They Can't Take That Away from Me
  6. It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
  7. Stompin' at the Savoy
  8. Baubles, Bangles and Beads
  9. The More I See You
  10. I'm Glad There Is You
  11. Willow Weep for Me
  12. Cry Like the Wind
  13. Bei Mir Bist du Schön
  14. Swinging on a Star
  15. Give a Little Whistle
  16. When You Wish Upon a Star
  17. Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered
  18. How High the Moon
  19. I Get Along Without You Very Well (Except Sometimes)
  20. The Song Is You
  21. Misty
  22. The Way You Look Tonight