Jazz, Post-Bop, Piano Jazz, Jazz Instrument, Cool

Album Review

"Poinciana" was such a big hit for the Ahmad Jamal Trio that the album Poinciana (recorded just eight months after the original single version) has a remake that served as the title cut. Performed live at the Spotlight Club in Washington D.C., the music features close musical communication between the trio members (who include bassist Israel Crosby and drummer Vernell Fournier) on such numbers as "A Gal In Calico," "Autumn Leaves," and "This Can't Be Love." Recorded the same day as The Ahmad Jamal Trio, Volume IV, this date was equally rewarding and worth searching for.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Poinciana
  2. You Don't Know What Love Is
  3. A Gal in Calico
  4. Ivy
  5. Tater Pie
  6. Autumn Leaves
  7. This Can't Be Love
  8. Old Devil Moon
purchase full album