February 11, 2003
Pop/Rock, Heavy Metal, British Metal, Neo-Classical Metal, Album Rock, Pop-Metal, Hard Rock

Album Review

Sony Music's "Essential" series of limited-edition two-disc compilations of major artists has been well-assembled generally, and Ozzy Osbourne's increased celebrity following the success of the "reality" TV series The Osbournes justifies his inclusion, as does his string of multi-platinum albums dating back to 1980. The 29-track collection presents most of the highlights of his solo career, from Blizzard of Ozz to Down to Earth, including such U.K. and/or U.S. hits as "Bark at the Moon," "No More Tears," "Perry Mason," and "Mama, I'm Coming Home," as well as the Grammy-winning live version of "I Don't Want to Change the World." Missing from the song list are such favorites as "Shot in the Dark," a Top 20 U.K. hit that made the Top Ten of Billboard's Mainstream Rock chart, and "Back on Earth," another major Mainstream Rock hit; both tracks can be found on the 1997 hits collection The Ozzman Cometh. And "Close My Eyes Forever," Osbourne's duet with Lita Ford, which was a gold-selling single and made the Top Ten of the Hot 100, is not in the Sony vaults and was not licensed. So, The Essential Ozzy Osbourne is not the perfect two-CD sampler of Osbourne's solo career. But it is a very good one, and new fans attracted by the TV show who wonder what his music is like will get an accurate representation of it here.
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Crazy Train
  2. Mr. Crowley
  3. I Don't Know [Live]
  4. Suicide Solution
  5. Goodbye to Romance
  6. Over the Mountain
  7. Flying High Again
  8. Diary of a Madman
  9. Paranoid [Live]
  10. Bark at the Moon
  11. You're No Different
  12. Rock 'N' Roll Rebel
  13. Crazy Babies
  14. Miracle Man
  15. Fire in the Sky
  16. Breakin' All the Rules
  17. Mama, I'm Coming Home
  18. Desire
  19. No More Tears
  20. Time After Time
  21. Road to Nowhere
  22. I Don't Want to Change the World [Live]
  23. Perry Mason
  24. I Just Want You
  25. Thunder Underground
  26. See You on the Other Side
  27. Gets Me Through
  28. Dreamer
  29. No Easy Way Out