January 27, 2004
Wounded Bird
Pop/Rock, Soft Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Adult Contemporary

Album Review

Reissue label supreme Wounded Bird continued its mission to reissue the most eccentric and obscure releases by combining Firefall's last two records, 1982's Break of Dawn and 1983's Mirror of the World, on one budget-line disc. While the group had a few notable chart-topping hits during its tenure, the overly glossed production sensibilities, drum machines, and synthesizers of the early '80s clashed with the feel-good, relaxed atmosphere of Firefall's folk-tinged sound. Also, most of the group had already parted ways, with only one original member still in good standing. There were still moments of adept songwriting, but they were most certainly few and far between. And although creatively these sessions were nothing to hang their heads in shame over (Firefall on a bad day are still better than some soft rock combos at their best), the label decided that it was time to move on and the band finally saw its sunset -- but not before achieving much to be proud of in the highly competitive soft rock world of the late '70s and early '80s.
Rob Theakston, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Break of Dawn
  2. Body and Soul
  3. Falling in Love
  4. Always
  5. In the Dead of Night
  6. It's Not Too Late
  7. Take Me Back
  8. Fall for You
  9. Suddenly
  10. Don't Tell Me Why
  11. Runaway Love
  12. Say You're Gonna Love Me
  13. Every Little Word
  14. Lorelei
  15. Mirror of the World
  16. Love Nobody
  17. Forever More
  18. Gold River
  19. What Kind of Love
  20. Ancient History