August 24, 2004
Sixthman Records
Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock

Album Review

Sister Hazel probably deserved more from AAA radio than the cup of coffee they got with 1997's "All for You". The Florida combo writes strong hooks, and cultivates the same easily accessible sound that brought silver platters of success to dudes like Rob Thomas and notorious actress dater Adam Duritz. That said, Sister Hazel might lean a little much on the easygoing with 2004's Lift. The album is a wrinkle-free landscape with its emotions and instrumental points demarcated and annotated for quick and simple consumption - Lift is like Lean Cuisines for casual music fans. Opener "Surrender" offers come crackle, and its chorus is energizing and true. "Green" is as catchy as anything Train has ever written, so there's no reason why it shouldn't be a adult alternative chartbuster. Overall, the album's soft-toned production is like an enormous goosedown pillow of feelgood rock. Sister Hazel won't get you thinking too deep about anything, but they probably go great with coffee and Saturday mornings. Of course, that means you actually have to be up on Saturday morning.
Johnny Loftus, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Surrender
  2. Lay It Down
  3. World Inside My Head
  4. Hold On
  5. I Will Come Through
  6. All About the Love
  7. In the Moment
  8. Dreamers
  9. Another Me
  10. Firefly
  11. Just What I Needed
  12. Erin
  13. Green (Welcome to the World)