June 07, 2005
Newhouse Records
Rhythm & Blues, Funk, Soul

Album Review

Renegades of Funk, released in 2005, is 2000's Soul of Rasta -- also released by the Newhouse label -- in expanded form. The earlier set was a perfectly adequate anthology of Cymande's three '70s albums, but this one adds a pair of "unreleased bonus tracks" (the poor "Trevorgus" and the decent "Bird"), in addition to album cut "Zion I." If you want the whole picture, there's the Sequel (U.K.) release The Message, which combines the band's three albums onto two discs, but this 16-track disc does contain most of the essentials ("Bra," "The Message," "Dove," "Brothers on the Slide").
Andy Kellman, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Bra
  2. Brothers on the Slide
  3. The Message
  4. Fug
  5. Listen
  6. Genevieve
  7. Dove
  8. Willy's Headache
  9. Getting It Back
  10. One More
  11. Anthracite
  12. Equitorial Forest
  13. Bird [#][*]
  14. For Baby Ooh
  15. Zion I
  16. Trevorgus [#][*]
purchase full album