May 24, 2005
Rhythm & Blues, Doo Wop, Early Pop/Rock, Early R&B

Album Review

Although the Silhouettes only had one national hit, the enduring "Get a Job," written by group member Rick Lewis while he was stationed in West Germany during a hitch in the U.S. Army, the group had a good deal more to offer than most one-shot wonders, as this generous 30-track set makes clear. It includes "Get a Job," of course, with its iconic sha-nah-nah refrain and a solid sax break from Ronnie McGill, as well as the solid original rendition of "I Sold My Heart to the Junkman" (later a 1960 hit for the Bluebelles in an up-tempo version), the Drifters-like "Move on Over (To Another Land)," the "La Bamba"-ized "The Push," the should-have-been-a-big-hit "Headin' for the Poor House," and the goofy, infectious "Bull Frog." Also included are three previously unissued sides and some rare solo singles by Silhouettes lead singer Bill Horton. The end result is a solid, fun history of this very special singing group, making it, as the title says, the complete package.
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Get a Job
  2. I Sold My Heart to the Junkman
  3. I Wanna Know
  4. Shadow
  5. Rentman
  6. Move on Over (To Another Land)
  7. I Am Lonely
  8. The Push
  9. Climb Every Mountain
  10. Headin' for the Poor House
  11. Like to See You in That Mood
  12. No One Can Take Your Place
  13. Gaucho Serenade
  14. Miss Thing
  15. Never Will Part
  16. Workin' Hard
  17. For Your Precious Love [#]
  18. Bing Bong
  19. Which Way Did She Go
  20. Vision in the Night [#]
  21. Stormy Weather [#]
  22. What Would You Do
  23. Voodoo Eyes
  24. Not Me Baby
  25. She's Gone
  26. Evelyn
  27. Wish I Could Be There
  28. Never
  29. Your Love Is All I Need
  30. Bull Frog