May 26, 2005
Music Club Records
Pop/Rock, AM Pop, Early Pop/Rock, Teen Idols, Brill Building Pop

Album Review

Something's Gotten Hold of My Heart: The Collection is a budget-priced U.K. anthology of the great Gene Pitney from the Music Club Deluxe label. At 40 tracks, it's ten songs shorter than Sequel's excellent Looking Through: The Ultimate Collection, but all of the key hits are here, including "Town Without Pity," "Twenty-Four Hours from Tulsa," "It Hurts to Be In Love," "Mecca," "Only Love Can Break Your Heart," and "(The Man Who Shot) Liberty Valance." Listeners looking for a hefty dose of pop melodrama would do well to pick up this fine career overview of one of the finest practitioners of the '60s.
James Christopher Monger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Twenty-Four Hours from Tulsa
  2. Something'g Gotten Hold of My Heart
  3. That Girl Belongs to Yesterday
  4. (I Wanna) Love My Life Away
  5. Town Without Pity
  6. It Hurts to Be in Love
  7. I'm Gonna Be Strong
  8. I Must Be Seeing Things
  9. Looking Thru' the Eyes of Love
  10. Princess in Rags
  11. Backstage (I'm Lonely)
  12. Nobody Needs Your Love
  13. Just One Smile
  14. Somewhere in the Country
  15. Yours Until Tomorrow
  16. Maria Elena (I'm Going to War)
  17. A Street Called Hope
  18. Shady Lady
  19. She's a Heartbreaker
  20. She Lets Her Hair Down (Early in the Morning)
  21. (The Man Who Shot) Liberty Valance
  22. (In The) Cold Light of Day
  23. If I Didn't Have a Dime (To Play the Jukebox)
  24. Half Heaven -- Half Heartache
  25. Billy You're My Friend
  26. Only Love Can Break a Heart
  27. Mecca
  28. Last Chance to Turn Around
  29. Every Breath I Take
  30. Teardrop by Teardrop
  31. Donna Means Heartbreak
  32. Who Needs It
  33. Lips Are Redder on You
  34. True Love Never Runs Smooth
  35. Yesterday's Hero
  36. Big Job
  37. I've Got Five Dollars and It's Saturday Night
  38. Louisiana Man
  39. That's All It Took
  40. Baby Ain't That Fine