RELEASE
December 06, 2005
LABEL
Cherry Red
GENRES
Pop/Rock, Post-Punk, Alternative/Indie Rock, New Wave, Punk/New Wave

Album Review

The Glaxo Babies definitely earned their place in the long list of British bands influencing the angled sound of hipster groups currently enjoying a revival with the post-punk sound. While Cherry Red made the great decision to come up with a retrospective of the band's work, this is by no means a complete collection. While "Christine Keeler" and many of the highlights from Nine Months to the Disco and Put Me on the Guest List are represented, Cherry Red opted not to highlight the experimental side of the group and avoided selections from their later works. It's a useful survey for casual listeners unfamiliar with the Glaxo Babies, but also an invitation to dig deeper into the group's work and find a treasure chest of other gems. Also, for further exploration into the rich Bristol sound of the time, check Cherry Red's Avon Calling anthology as an excellent supplement to better put the Glaxo Babies' unique sound into proper context.
Rob Theakston, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. This Is Your Lifehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/this-is-your-life/id203996463?i=203996465&uo=5
  2. Stay Awakehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/stay-awake/id203996463?i=203996474&uo=5
  3. Because of Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/because-of-you/id203996463?i=203996495&uo=5
  4. Who Killed Bruce Leehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/who-killed-bruce-lee/id203996463?i=203996505&uo=5
  5. Avoiding the Tissuehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/avoiding-the-tissue/id203996463?i=203996511&uo=5
  6. Police Statehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/police-state/id203996463?i=203996542&uo=5
  7. It's Irrationalhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/its-irrational/id203996463?i=203996545&uo=5
  8. Burninghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/burning/id203996463?i=203996550&uo=5
  9. Fleshhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/flesh/id203996463?i=203996553&uo=5
  10. She Went to Pieces [Live]http://itunes.apple.com/album/she-went-to-pieces/id203996463?i=203996561&uo=5
  11. Christine Keelerhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/christine-keeler/id203996463?i=203996565&uo=5
  12. Nova Bossa Novahttp://itunes.apple.com/album/nova-bossa-nova/id203996463?i=203996620&uo=5
  13. Promised Landhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/promised-land/id203996463?i=203996631&uo=5
  14. Maximum Sexual Joyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/maximum-sexual-joy/id203996463?i=203996632&uo=5
  15. This Is Your Vendettahttp://itunes.apple.com/album/this-is-your-vendetta/id203996463?i=203996635&uo=5
  16. Seven Dayshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/seven-days/id203996463?i=203996640&uo=5
  17. Shake (The Foundations)http://itunes.apple.com/album/shake-the-foundations/id203996463?i=203996644&uo=5
  18. Time Out: Lost Causeshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/time-out-lost-causes/id203996463?i=203996646&uo=5
  19. Tell Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/tell-me/id203996463?i=203996650&uo=5
purchase full album