RELEASE
April 15, 1991
LABEL
Columbia/Legacy
GENRES
Blues, Country Blues, Acoustic Memphis Blues, Classic Female Blues, Pre-War Country Blues, Acoustic Blues, Regional Blues

Album Review

Memphis Minnie is a unique figure in blues history, a female country blues singer who emerged in the late '20s when the field (at least on record) was exclusively filled by men. But, gender aside, she was one of the most talented blues singer/guitarists of the '30s and '40s. This CD reissue primarily dates from her period between her partnerships with Cousin Joe and Little Son Joe. Minnie is heard mostly playing her variations of good-time urban blues (à la Bill Broonzy), an even 12 bars to a chorus but with the feeling and emotion of the country blues. Pianist Blind John Davis and Charlie McCoy's mandolin help out on some of the tracks of the accessible set, which serves as a fine introduction to Memphis Minnie. Five of its 20 selections were previously unreleased.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Down in the Alley [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/down-in-the-alley/id193112459?i=193112487&uo=5
  2. Has Anyone Seen My Man?http://itunes.apple.com/album/has-anyone-seen-my-man/id193112459?i=193112519&uo=5
  3. I Hate to See the Sun Go Downhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-hate-to-see-the-sun-go-down/id193112459?i=193112589&uo=5
  4. Ice Man (Come on Up)http://itunes.apple.com/album/ice-man-come-on-up/id193112459?i=193112624&uo=5
  5. Hoodoo Ladyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/hoodoo-lady/id193112459?i=193112625&uo=5
  6. I'm a Bad Luck Womanhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/im-a-bad-luck-woman/id193112459?i=193112669&uo=5
  7. Caught Me Wrong Againhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/caught-me-wrong-again/id193112459?i=193112832&uo=5
  8. Black Cat Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/black-cat-blues/id193112459?i=193112836&uo=5
  9. Good Morninghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/good-morning/id193112459?i=193112838&uo=5
  10. Man, You Won't Give Me No Moneyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/hoodoo-lady-1933-1937/id193112459?uo=5
  11. Keep on Eatin'http://itunes.apple.com/album/keep-on-eatin/id193112459?i=193112842&uo=5
  12. I've Been Treated Wronghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/ive-been-treated-wrong/id193112459?i=193112844&uo=5
  13. Good Biscuitshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/good-biscuits/id193112459?i=193112877&uo=5
  14. Ain't No Use Tryin' to Tell on Me (I Know Something on You) [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/hoodoo-lady-1933-1937/id193112459?uo=5
  15. My Butcher Manhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/my-butcher-man/id193112459?i=193112918&uo=5
  16. My Strange Manhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/my-strange-man/id193112459?i=193112921&uo=5
  17. If You See My Rooster (Please Run Him Home)http://itunes.apple.com/album/if-you-see-my-rooster-please-run/id193112459?i=193112937&uo=5
  18. My Baby Don't Want Me No More [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/my-baby-dont-want-me-no-more/id193112459?i=193112947&uo=5
  19. Please Don't Stop Him [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/please-dont-stop-him/id193112459?i=193112955&uo=5
  20. I'm Going Don't You Know [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/im-going-dont-you-know/id193112459?i=193112956&uo=5
purchase full album