RELEASE
April 15, 1991
LABEL
Columbia/Legacy
GENRES
Blues, Country Blues, Acoustic Memphis Blues, Classic Female Blues, Pre-War Country Blues, Acoustic Blues, Regional Blues

Album Review

Memphis Minnie is a unique figure in blues history, a female country blues singer who emerged in the late '20s when the field (at least on record) was exclusively filled by men. But, gender aside, she was one of the most talented blues singer/guitarists of the '30s and '40s. This CD reissue primarily dates from her period between her partnerships with Cousin Joe and Little Son Joe. Minnie is heard mostly playing her variations of good-time urban blues (à la Bill Broonzy), an even 12 bars to a chorus but with the feeling and emotion of the country blues. Pianist Blind John Davis and Charlie McCoy's mandolin help out on some of the tracks of the accessible set, which serves as a fine introduction to Memphis Minnie. Five of its 20 selections were previously unreleased.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Down in the Alley [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/down-in-the-alley/id193112459?i=193112487&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. Has Anyone Seen My Man?http://itunes.apple.com/album/has-anyone-seen-my-man/id193112459?i=193112519&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. I Hate to See the Sun Go Downhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-hate-to-see-the-sun-go-down/id193112459?i=193112589&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. Ice Man (Come on Up)http://itunes.apple.com/album/ice-man-come-on-up/id193112459?i=193112624&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. Hoodoo Ladyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/hoodoo-lady/id193112459?i=193112625&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. I'm a Bad Luck Womanhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/im-a-bad-luck-woman/id193112459?i=193112669&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. Caught Me Wrong Againhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/caught-me-wrong-again/id193112459?i=193112832&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. Black Cat Blueshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/black-cat-blues/id193112459?i=193112836&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. Good Morninghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/good-morning/id193112459?i=193112838&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. Man, You Won't Give Me No Moneyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/hoodoo-lady-1933-1937/id193112459?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. Keep on Eatin'http://itunes.apple.com/album/keep-on-eatin/id193112459?i=193112842&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. I've Been Treated Wronghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/ive-been-treated-wrong/id193112459?i=193112844&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. Good Biscuitshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/good-biscuits/id193112459?i=193112877&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  14. Ain't No Use Tryin' to Tell on Me (I Know Something on You) [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/hoodoo-lady-1933-1937/id193112459?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  15. My Butcher Manhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/my-butcher-man/id193112459?i=193112918&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  16. My Strange Manhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/my-strange-man/id193112459?i=193112921&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  17. If You See My Rooster (Please Run Him Home)http://itunes.apple.com/album/if-you-see-my-rooster-please-run/id193112459?i=193112937&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  18. My Baby Don't Want Me No More [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/my-baby-dont-want-me-no-more/id193112459?i=193112947&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  19. Please Don't Stop Him [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/please-dont-stop-him/id193112459?i=193112955&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  20. I'm Going Don't You Know [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/im-going-dont-you-know/id193112459?i=193112956&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album