January 23, 2007
Heads Up Records
Jazz, Adult Contemporary, Jazz-Pop, Crossover Jazz, Smooth Jazz, Jazz Instrument, Guitar Jazz

Album Review

Though he occasionally branches out into other styles, Chuck Loeb is at heart, a pop-oriented smooth jazz guitarist. Presence finds Loeb smack in the middle of his comfort zone. "Llevame" adds some Latin percussion and murmured female vocals, "The Western Sky" incorporates a vaguely new age synth wash, and "The Music Outside" flirts a bit with quiet storm R&B, but at heart, this is utterly straightforward smooth jazz with Loeb's laid-back, tasty soloing front and center. Even the pair of pop covers, Steely Dan's "Rikki Don't Lose That Number" and James Taylor's "Shed a Little Light," are transformed into showcases for Loeb's inimitable style. Unapologetically mellow and buffed to a high-sheen gloss, Presence is smooth jazz for folks who think they just don't make smooth jazz records like this anymore.
Stewart Mason, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Good to Go
  2. Rikki Don't Lose That Number
  3. Window of the Soul
  4. Starting Over
  5. Llevame
  6. Presence
  7. The Music Outside
  8. The Western Sky
  9. Hangin' with You
  10. Mr. Martino
  11. Shed a Little Light
purchase full album