Real World Records
World, Sami, Worldbeat, Contemporary Folk, Nordic Traditions

Album Review

A beautiful release from Sapmiland artist Persen, this recording has the former schoolteacher singing songs that protest the treatment of her people and deal with their history, while also bringing traditional Sapmi music into a more modern framework. The instrumentation is simple, yet never stark, and the result, as a whole, is simply a pleasure. It's rare that songs of anguish are given such musical beauty.
Steven McDonald, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Gula Gula
  2. Vilges Suola
  3. Balu Badjel Go Vuoittán
  4. Du Lahka
  5. It Sat Duolmma Mu
  6. Eadnán Bákti
  7. Oppskrift for Herrefolk
  8. Duinne